It’s Not Just Cricket: IndiaNIC Organizes Its First Internal Table Tennis Tournament

By admin Mar 26, 2012, 7:19:22 AM , In Events Updates

At IndiaNIC, we have always believed in creating a balance between work and play. If you’ve been following our blog, you must be aware of our keen interest in cricket. We have been winning the corporate cricket tournament since last three years. While cricket is one of the most important games for IndiaNIC, our interest is not limited to just one game. Our new premises have a special space for board games and Table Tennis.

Table Tennis aficionados had been making full use of this opportunity. Many had honed their skills over the last few weeks, and they were itching for a competition.

On the day of the tournament, 17 participants entered the games arena with a hopeful gleam in their eyes: everyone wanted to win. The weeks of practice had paid off for most of the players, and we had quite a few close matches.

Sandeep Mundra, Mayur Vaghela, Chirag Bhavsar and Bakul Kaushik made it to the semi-finals. While the games leading to the finals were exciting enough, the semi-finals were even more thrilling.

The semi-final between Mayur Vaghela and Chirag Bhavsar was quite a heart-stopper, but in the end Mayur Vaghela prevailed, winning the first two games in the best of three.

The semi-final between Sandeep Mundra and Bakul Kaushik was even more of a cliffhanger. Bakul Kaushik won two close games and edged into finals. Sandeep Mundra and Chirag Bhavsar played three games for the third position. These three games had all the spectators on the edge of their seats. Finally, Sandeep Mundra won the match by 2-1.

The finals games (best of three) were the pick of the bunch. The battle-hardened players knew that victory was not far. Bakul Kaushik and Mayur Vaghela had saved their best for the last. The final games were the best of the lot, and there was hardly any sound in the room while the finalists fought for the prize. Mayur Vaghela proved to be the more skillful of the two, and he won the finals by 2-0, becoming IndiaNIC’s first Table Tennis Champion.

  • It’s Not Just Cricket: IndiaNI...
  • Blog